vatican museums museo pio clementino

The Museo Pio Clementino takes its name from the two Popes Clement XIV and Pius VI. The former had its foundation in 1771, while the second explains its expansion and entry monumental construction with the Atrium of the Four Gates and Scala Simonetti. The museum was established with the intent to preserve, enhance and promote outside the knowledge of the greek-Roman works of art accumulated by the popes over the centuries. The collection is exhibited in the Belvedere Palace, the largest museum complex in the Vatican Museums. It includes 14 treatment rooms, including a beautiful outdoor courtyard and houses marble sculptures, artwork and many archaeological finds from the greek-Roman times. Today's exhibits tell the contrary, the original numbering of the rooms starting from what was once the exit, the Candelabra Gallery and the Biga Hall, and ending in the Greek Cross Room, the old entrance. The Octagonal Courtyard is at the heart of the museum, was originally square, planted with orange trees. It was Pope Julius II who first decided to place any statues in his possession: the Apollo (130-140 d.C) and the Laocoon group (first half of the first century A.D.). Both are still there, but alongside them several others have been installed.

Discover Rome Art!

Find on the map!

What our visitors saying about their experience